top of page

Published in February 2024, this delightful SATBB recorder quintet brings a refreshing new edition to ensemble repertoire lists.


The three movement work (7'20 long total duration) was inspired by the mighty oak tree (Derwen in Welsh) and journeys on an exploration through roots, branches and leaves.


Derwen is aimed at confident intermediate to advanced ensembles due to (sometimes) frequently changing time signatures and some more technically challenging phrases but also brings with it beautiful harmonies and changing moods.


A note from the composer: "The title of this piece, Derwen, is the Welsh word for an oak tree. Trees are traditional symbols of physical and spiritual nourishment or growth, with the oak in particular representing strength and longevity. This seemed to be a fitting inspiration for a commission born out of a long-standing musical collaboration and friendship, and so became the starting point for the composition.


The piece begins with a simple melody in the lower voices (the ‘roots’) and gradually builds up the texture. The second movement explores the idea of intertwining branches, reaching higher and higher towards the sky.


Finally, an off-balance rhythm in the final movement brings to mind the swirling and falling of leaves, eventually combining with elements from the first two movements to bring the piece full circle".


Please view several samples and a full Youtube video (of the complete three movement suite) by scrolling through the images.


You will receive with this purchase;

  • Recorder parts (soprano/alto/tenor/bass 1/bass 2)
  • Score


Derwen is also available as an instant download PDF edition, available here:

Derwen SATBB Recorder Quintet by Emma Arandjelovic

  • Emma Arandjelovic

bottom of page